Learn Greek in Greece

Students’ Reviews

Submit your Review

Reviews


Grecia en estado puro

Rated 5 out of 5
06/07/2021

Μαθαίνεις τα Ελληνικά από τη ζωή και από την καρδιά, τη μοναδική μέθοδο που γνωρίζω για να καταλαβαίνει κάποιος μία γλώσσα και τους ανθρώπους που τη μιλάνε, ίσως το πιο σημαντικό.

Loles

Response from Ikarian Centre

Ευχαριστούμε Loles, μάλλον κάπως έτσι είναι: Αν δεν διδάσκεις με την καρδιά, δεν γίνεται τίποτα. Είσαι δασκάλα και εσύ, έτσι καταλαβαίνεις καλύτερα.

A superb way of learning Greek in Greece

Rated 5 out of 5
06/07/2021

I have participated four times – at least – in the Greek language courses held by the Ikarian Centre at Arethousa, Ikaria. I have enjoyed my stays very much and I have learned a lot.
The teaching methods are very efficient; at the same time the atmosphere that characterises the lessons, is relaxed, warm, helpful, full of humour and laughter, and so are the excursions, the meals, and the conversations (in Greek, from day one!) with the other students and the teachers.
Arethousa is a lovely place and the accommodation at the Centre’s premises is very comfortable. Ikaria is an exciting Greek island with a varied natural scenery, from wild mountain ridges to beautiful beaches with serene turquoise blue waters.
I recommend everybody with an interest in Greek language and culture and everyday life to go to Ikaria and participate in the lessons and other activities offered by the Greek language centre.

Erling from Norway

Response from Ikarian Centre

Thank you Erling!

Dans la joie et la bonne humeur...

Rated 5 out of 5
05/25/2021

J’ai fait plusieurs cours à l’Ikariako Kentro (Ikarian centre) J’ai commencé très débutante, je savais à peine lire le grec; c’était il y a quelques années… Cette année je me suis inscrite pour la 3ème fois au stage “Littérature”.
L’équipe des enseignants est très professionnelle et sympathique et l’on apprend sérieusement dans la bonne humeur.
L’enseignement ne s’arrête pas à la langue : on aborde aussi la culture, l’histoire, les traditions. Il y a même des cours d’initiation aux danses traditionnelles ; ainsi on peut danser dans les fêtes locales !
Bâtie à flanc de colline, l’école bénéficie d’un cadre exceptionnel et d’une vue mer-montagne magnifique. Les studios sont confortables et bien équipés.
En plus d’avoir appris une langue, j’y ai tissé de belles amitiés. J’y reviens toujours avec grand plaisir !

Martine Billiez

La meilleure façon d’apprendre le grec!

Rated 5 out of 5
05/25/2021

Ambiance garantie! Vous apprendrez le grec et vous passerez du bon temps.
Dans un cadre exceptionnel, propice à la concentration, vous bénéficierez de tout le confort nécessaire. L’occasion de rompre avec votre vie quotidienne et de profiter de vacances tout en apprenant le grec.
La méthode d’enseignement qui allie l’apprentissage aux jeux didactiques et à la dynamique de groupe vous forcera à parler et donc à progresser.
4 h de cours le matin en petits groupes de niveau 3-4 personnes, prolongé par un travail personnel oral et écrit, vous apprendrez vite et bien. Vous apprécierez l’exigence pédagogique des professeurs qui savent procurer le plaisir d’apprendre leur langue tout en vous faisant découvrir la richesse de leur culture et civilisation.
Les activités différentes proposées chaque jour: randonnée, cuisine, danse, visite, plage, film, chanson, sont autant de bons moments que vous partagerez avec les professeurs. Le tout couronné par des soirées inoubliables à la taverne.
Merci à toi, Mixalis et à tes professeures, Ceano, Vivi, Sofia pour votre implication, votre dévouement et gentillesse.
Vous nous laissez un souvenir impérissable et l’envie de revenir vous voir chaque année.
Vivement notre prochain séjour à Arethousa!
Michel et Christine ( Saint-Malo, France)

Michel et Christine Avril

Full immersion on site in modern Greek: an adventure never to forget

Rated 5 out of 5
07/13/2020

In the summer of 2012 I spent two weeks on Ikaria during which I followed an intensive course of modern Greek at the Ikarian Centre. It was an extraordinary experience for several reasons: the fantastic surroundings of the island, the idyllic location of dormitories and classrooms, the interesting and most diverse fellow students, the course’s extra’s like dance classes and the introduction to local traditions and, last but not least, the acquired knowledge. I’m still in touch with some of the people I met there and we all look back at the time spent on Ikaria as a lovely, dreamy memory. Finally, as a university graduate in ancient Greek it was simply marvelous to see the resemblances (and the differences) between two languages time-wise so far away and yet so close. I’d definitely recommend a stay on this island with all the benefits the Ikarian Centre can offer you.

Tessa Vrijmoed

Interviews & comments


send your video and we’ll post it here

Lessons in language and life on the Greek island of Ikaria
By Anna Hestler January 31, 2013 Read the article in Washington Post At a mini-market on the Greek island of Ikaria, I study the labels on various items, trying to decipher their meaning. It’s been three days since I left my Greek husband back in New York and dove headfirst into a local language immersion course. I’m feeling a tad out of my depth.

Lessons in language and life on the Greek island of Ikaria

What can I say about my experience that nobody has already expressed? For me, when the time came to leave, I couldn’t remember what life was like anywhere else in the world. But that’s just it… in Ikaria, you are able to forget the world and focus on what it is that you came for… Each morning, I awoke to the soft sound of bells on sheep and to the crows of roosters. The sun bled in through my window

(no title)

Una bellissima esperienza in un posto magico. Due settimane di corso intensivo con Mihali a Ikaria valgono come un anno di lezioni private ma, in più, in una cornice straordinaria come quella di un paesino sperduto nella natura in un’isola dell’Egeo. Grazie, ευχαριστώ πολύ !Alberto (Trieste, Italy)

May 2018

Send by María Teresa Montaño Martín – Find María Teresa Montaño Martín at social media http://www.facebook.com/mariateresa.montanomartin I attended classes in September 2017 and I really enjoyed the experience. I never thought that in just two weeks you could learn a lot, thanks to the great organization and the great professionalism of the teacher. It has been a great experience, both the classes and the activities, especially due to the good atmosphere between teachers and students, very positive in every way.

There are places where one stays and places that stay in one